Scarning Parish Council

The Parish Council has nine councillors. One of our members is elected each year to be the Chairman. We have an officer, the Parish Clerk. The role of the clerk is advisory and supportive of the Council and its functions.

The Parish Council looks after the interests of the parish and its inhabitants. It has many functions, but broadly speaking is responsible for the provision and maintenance of the children's play areas on the Water Meadows, the installation of play equipment on the Village Playing Field, the maintenance of the roadside verges and hedges in some parts of the parish, the provision of dog and litter bins, the maintenance of some street lights, the maintenance of the church clock and the war memorial, and the repair and upkeep of bus shelters in the parish. The Parish Council has a budget this year of £38,000.

Scarning Parish Councillors

Councillors’ Registers of Interests are available on Breckland Council's website. When visiting their site, follow the link to 'Town & Parish Council Details M-Y'


Fiona Bradford


EBF944FD-1D8C-476F-AF5F-5362E0311AAE (1)

Steve Bunn

Vice Chair

Person Icon

Tim Abel


Person Icon

Melanie Blackburn


Tina Mallard.jpeg

Tina Mallard



Chris Farnham


Person Icon

Charles Hewson


Cathy Geary.jpg

Cathy Geary


Michael Steward.jpg

Michael Steward


The Role of a Councillor


A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years.  People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work. A councillor is an unpaid voluntary role.

They are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area. In Scarning we are able to have 9 councillors.


Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term ‘local council’ is synonymous with ‘parish council’, ‘town council’ and ‘community council’.